“JUST BEHIND YOU!”

25 Sep

You know you’ve been working in restaurants too long when you start telling people, “Stay to the right!”

Unfortunately, civilians are not held to the same traffic rules as restaurant workers are, and it pisses me off : 1) Stay to the right, always; 2) The guest has the right of way, no exceptions; and 3) Hot food is a priority after the guest, followed by anyone carring something in their hands.

I find myself walking down the streeting now instinctually  saying, “Behind you,” when I’m about to pass. I was at 34th and 8th ave. the other day, and it was so crowded that I called, “Corner,” coming up from the subway.

Leave a Reply

